Tom Ferris

Tom Ferris is a publisher, historian and author. He has written 12 books and 30 video scripts to date, all relating to his keen passion for railway heritage. He is the Assistant Station Master at Bridgnorth, on the Severn Valley branch of GWR.

Tom’s first four books with Graffeg, the Lost Lines series, explore four railway lines in Wales, all built during the golden age of steam.

Each book  takes the reader on a nostalgic journey along the line, tracking the route from end-to-end and reveals the story of the line along the way; from its promotion and construction through to its heyday and eventual demise. The one exception to this is the Cambrian Coast Line which, as the author relates, narrowly escaped the closures of the 1963 Beeching Report and is still very much with us today, fulfilling the vital transport function for which it was built in the Victorian age.


Aberystwyth to Carmarthen

The long closed line between Aberystwyth and Carmarthen faced trouble from the outset, but persevered. Follow its journey through financial difficulties to its eventual termination under the Beeching cuts.

Brecon to Newport

Starting off in what later became the Brecon Beacons National Park, crossing the picturesque River Usk and passing through the south Wales valleys before reaching Newport, few lines offered greater scenic contrasts in the space of a few miles.

Cambrian Coast Line

At a time when steam was king, the Cambrian Coast Express linked Pwllheli to Paddington, allowing holiday makers and locals to travel along one of the most beautiful and evocative coastal routes in Britain.

Ruabon to Barmouth

Journey back in time on a long-closed line between Ruabon and Barmouth. Starting off in the industrial north east, weave a path through the Vale of Llangollen, Dee Valley and mid-Wales countryside, before reaching the shores of Cardigan Bay at Barmouth Junction.


Article in the Shropshire Star, 20 January 2018

Tom Ferris, Lost Lines, Lost Lines of Wales, Shropshire Star, Graffeg

Article in The Railway Observer magazine, January 2018

The Railway Observer, Tom Ferris, Lost Lines, The Lost Lines of Wales, Graffeg

Retracing the Lost Lines of Wales: an interview with Tom Ferris

We caught up with author Tom Ferris to ask a little about the origins of the Lost Lines of Wales books and the continued value of Wales’s railways heritage today.

Order the next four books in the series now

The 80 mile long line from Shrewsbury to Aberystwyth is not lost in the same sense as some of the railways covered in this series. This book takes a nostaligic look back to when the line had its own named train, the Cambrian Coast Express.

The Mid Wales Line ran for 60 miles, from Moat Lane Junction near Caersws to Brecon, passing through the old counties of Mongomery, Radnorshire and Brecknock.

Though the railway from Chester to Holyhead is still busy today serving those living along the coast of north Wales and travellers to Ireland as it has done since the 1840s, this is a nostalgic journey back in time to when the line was in its steam age heyday.

The Vale of Neath Line connected Pontypool Road to Neath and Swansea and included a branch to Merthyr. It was built primarily to transport the abundant supplies of coal in the districts it served.

These 4 books were published on 6 October 2017 at £8.99 each.

Buy the first 4 books in the series together for just £28!

You can now buy the first four books in the series together for the discounted price of just £28.

The bundles includes:

Cambrian Coast Line (RRP: £8.99)
Ruabon to Barmouth (RRP: £8.99)
Aberystwyth to Carmarthen (RRP: £8.99)
Brecon to Newport (RRP: £8.99)


‘These four handy-sized pocket money-priced volumes contain a potted history of each route in wales, mainly illustrated with black and white pictures from the steam era. […] Of particular interest to readers will be Ruabon and Barmouth, a superb classic cross-country route which now accomodates two heritage lines on its most scenic portions, the Llangollen Railway and the Bala Lake Railway. […] They are each short and simple biographical introductions of each route accompanied by basic maps to highlight station locations.’ Heritage Railway